Skip to Main Content

Contact West Academy

1302 1st Ave West
Newton, IA 50208

641-792-0335

West Academy Staff Directory



Kathleen Briggs

Kathleen Briggs
Teacher
Language Arts

  BriggsK@newtoncsd.org

  WEST Academy

Erin Bright

Erin Bright
Teacher
Business Education

  BrightE@newtoncsd.org

  WEST Academy

Ryan Comer

Ryan Comer
Teacher
Social Studies

  ComerR@newtoncsd.org

  641-792-0335

  WEST Academy

Melanie Dolanc

Melanie Dolanc
Teacher
iJAG

  DolancM@newtoncsd.org

  WEST Academy

Lacie Dykstra

Lacie Dykstra
Secretary
Administration

  DykstraLa@newtoncsd.org

  WEST Academy

Sonya Elzey

Sonya Elzey
Teacher
Special Education

  ElzeyS@newtoncsd.org

  Newton High School
WEST Academy

Shelly Fitzgerald

Shelly Fitzgerald
School Counselor
School Counselor

  FitzgeraldS@newtoncsd.org

  Newton High School
WEST Academy

Judy Nissly

Judy Nissly
Teacher
Science

  NisslyJ@newtoncsd.org

  641-792-0335

  WEST Academy





Newton By The Numbers

12

Parks

90

Displays of public art & sculpture

1

Nascar track

Whether you’re raising a family, starting a business or building a home — you’ll want to get to know Newton. Our community vision statement is “Newton Shines Bright: Newton is a progressive, family friendly community, a shining star of Central Iowa, and a place to call home.”

Community Links