Skip to Main Content

Contact West Academy

1302 1st Ave West
Newton, IA 50208

641-792-0335

West Academy Staff Directory



Erin Bright

Erin Bright
Business Education - Teacher

  BrightE@newtoncsd.org

  WEST Academy

Kathryn Byrum

Kathryn Byrum
Language Arts - Teacher

  byrumk@newtoncsd.org

  641-792-0335

  WEST Academy

Ryan Comer

Ryan Comer
Social Studies - Teacher

  ComerR@newtoncsd.org

  641-792-0335

  WEST Academy

Melanie Dolanc

Melanie Dolanc
iJAG - Teacher

  DolancM@newtoncsd.org

  WEST Academy

Lacie Dykstra

Lacie Dykstra
Administration - Secretary

  DykstraLa@newtoncsd.org

  WEST Academy

Shelly Fitzgerald

Shelly Fitzgerald
School Counselor - School Counselor

  FitzgeraldS@newtoncsd.org

  Newton High SchoolWEST Academy

Judy Nissly

Judy Nissly
Science - Teacher

  NisslyJ@newtoncsd.org

  641-792-0335

  WEST Academy

Zac Plank

Zac Plank
Math - Teacher

  PlankZ@newtoncsd.org

  WEST Academy





Newton By The Numbers

90

Displays of public art & sculpture

1

Drive-in theater

185

Tree species in Newton Arboretum

Whether you’re raising a family, starting a business or building a home — you’ll want to get to know Newton. Our community vision statement is “Newton Shines Bright: Newton is a progressive, family friendly community, a shining star of Central Iowa, and a place to call home.”

Community Links