Newton Community School Board of Education

Board Work Session
E. J. H. Beard Administration Center
East Conference Room
March 27, 2017 – 5:30 PM

MINUTES

Call to Order

President Travis Padget convened the board to order at 5:30 PM

Roll Call

Present: Sheri Benson, Josh Cantu (5:32 PM), Donna Cook (5:35 PM), Andy Elbert, Robyn Friedman, Ann Leonard, Travis Padget, Bob Callaghan, Gayle Isaac, Christine Dawson, Tom Bartello, Mark Burnett, Jolene Comer, Chris Forsyth, Jim Gilbert, Lois Holmes, Trisca Mick, Mike Moran, Bill Peters, Todd Schuster, Laura Selover, and Lisa Sharp.

Consent Agenda – ACTION #10121

Elbert moved, Leonard seconded to approve the consent agenda.

Ayes: Benson, Elbert, Friedman, Leonard, Padget Absent: Cantu, Cook

Learning, Leadership, and District Business – Bob Callaghan, Superintendent and Laura Selover, Director of Human Resources

Topic: 2017 – 2018 School District Calendar Options

Laura Selover, Director of Human Resources, presented Draft 1 and Draft 4 of the Newton Community School District 2017 – 2018 School Calendar. Superintendent Bob Callaghan facilitated a discussion with board members and those in attendance comparing the two drafts. Callaghan commended staff for their work and compromise during the calendar planning stages, and shared that Draft 4 received a more favorable response from staff. Building principals ensured the board that with this most recent calendar change, early release Mondays will enable effective PLC time with teachers. In addition, the calendar allows for collaboration time and professional development days. Mark Burnett, Instructional Coach, explained the district's work to align standards (PreK – 12) and the progress being made toward refining instructional time with the goal to improve student achievement. There was also discussion regarding brainstorming potential after school student activities on early release days.

Adjourn - ACTION #10122

Elbert moved, Leonard seconded to unanimously adjourn the meeting at 6:28 PM.

Minutes Mailed Approved by Action No	President	
	 	, 2017
	Secretary	