Newton Community School Board of Education

Board Learning Leadership E. J. H. Beard Administration Center West Conference Room July 25, 2016 – 5:30 PM

MINUTES

Call to Order

President Sheri Benson convened the board to order at 5:32 PM

Roll Call

Present: Sheri Benson, Josh Cantu, Donna Cook, Andrew Elbert, Ann Leonard, and Travis Padget (arrived 6:00 PM).

Absent: Robyn Friedman

Others Present: Superintendent Bob Callaghan, Miriam Van Heukelem (Ahlers & Cooney, P.C.), Harry Heiligenthal (IASB), Jason Brooks (KCOB), Christine Dawson, Gayle Isaac, Laura Selover, Jim Gilbert, Lisa Sharp, Jolene Comer, Todd Schuster, Tom Bartello, Dave Kalkhoff, Carrie Garrett, Lori Gilmore, Regina Gill, Ray Whipple, Lisa Pageler, Miranda Bratland, Patty Van Haaften, Chase Dickinson, JoEllen Linn, Carroyl Routier, Tina Stammeyer, Jody Barr, Tanner Clute, Kelly Tremel, Brandon Sharp, Lucinda Sinclair, Jenny Springer, David Hook, and Cody Muhs.

Consent Agenda – ACTION #9975

Leonard moved, Cook seconded to approve the consent agenda.

Ayes: Benson, Cantu, Cook, Elbert, Leonard Absent: Friedman, Padget

Learning, Leadership, and District Business: "Providing Special Education Services through the Delivery of Specially Designed Instruction" – Bob Callaghan, Superintendent and Miriam Van Heukelem – Ahlers and Cooney, P.C.

Miriam Van Heukelem presented information regarding the Individualized Education Plan (IEP) team meeting, Specially Designed Instruction (SDI), Least Restrictive Environment (LRE), and district provided Free and Appropriate Public Education (FAPE).

Special education teachers from all buildings and programs (extended core and resource) guided discussion. The groups included three special education teachers, one board member, and one principal. Additional members were included in some groups but not all. The focus was IEP, SDI, and time requirements to meet the education needs of our special education students.

Adjourn – ACTION #9976

Elbert moved, Padget seconded to unanimously adjourn the meeting at 6:30 PM.

Minutes Mailed	President	
Approved by Action No		, 2016
	Secretary	