Newton Community School Board of Education

Board Work Session
E. J. H. Beard Administration Center
East Conference Room
March 13, 2017 – 5:30 PM

MINUTES

Call to Order

President Travis Padget convened the board to order at 5:30 PM

Roll Call

Present: Sheri Benson, Josh Cantu, Andy Elbert, Robyn Friedman, Ann Leonard, Travis Padget, Bob Callaghan, Gayle Isaac, Christine Dawson, Tina Ross, Laura Selover, Dan Sloan, Jen Smith (PFM), and Susanne Gerlach (PFM).

Absent: Donna Cook

Consent Agenda – ACTION #10109

Elbert moved, Leonard seconded to approve the consent agenda.

Ayes: Benson, Cantu, Elbert, Friedman, Leonard, Padget Absent: Cook

Learning, Leadership, and District Business

Budget Work Session - Bob Callaghan, Superintendent and Gayle Isaac, Director of Business Services

Topic: Fiscal Year 2018 Budget and Tax Rate

Superintendent Bob Callaghan facilitated a discussion giving board members a historical perspective of budgetary decisions (FY 2014 – FY 2017) and an explanation of the proposed Fiscal Year 2018 Budget and Tax Rate. He invited Laura Selover, Director of Human Resources, to review the district's allocation of staffing resources (FY 2014 – FY 2017) and share the focus for FY 2018. Selover noted how in recent years the district has had to make a shift in our delivery of instruction to best meet the needs of our student population. Gayle Isaac, Director of Business Services, provided a handout detailing a recent history of budgetary distributions (FY 2014 – 2016), current year (FY 2017), and projections for FY 2018. For the current year, Isaac is projecting a deficit of approximately \$160,000 and explained efforts to try and mitigate this. A preliminary update was given on the development of the FY 2018 Certified Budget, with Isaac presenting allowable modifications to the Iowa Department of Management's Aid and Levy worksheet, informing the board for future decisions to be made on the tax rate.

Adjourn - ACTION #10110

Elbert moved, Leonard seconded to unanimously adjourn the meeting at 6:29 PM.

Minutes Mailed Approved by Action No	President	
Approved by Action No.		, 2017
	Secretary	